About Me

My name is Kat and I live in Kentucky with my husband, two dogs, two cats and newly acquired horse Alex.  Horses have been in my life for as far back as I can remember (that's about 30 years).  Some of my earliest memories are of being in the saddle atop a tiny pony.  My mom was a horse trainer and instructor (Eventing, Jumpers, Dressage and Fox-Hunters) for over twenty-five years. 

My mom in her prime
People often remark of life-long riders that they must have been "born in the saddle."  In my case this could have very nearly been true, my mom rode until she was eight and a half months pregnant with me.  Perhaps this is why I feel so at home around horses and in the saddle.

Me through the years
One benefit of being a trainer's daughter is that you hardly ever lack something to ride.  I was fortunate to have several ponies and one horse, all before I graduated from high school.  Pictured above are some of my ponies and my very first horse.  At left is my third pony, Lisiter's Flying Rapture, "Rappy."  In the center is my fourth pony, Scarlett O'Hara.  At right is my first, and until recently my last, horse Perfect Target "Target."

During college, I worked exercising fox-hunters, eventers and polo ponies, which helped keep me in the saddle.  I was fortunate enough to have the opportunity to regularly fox-hunt (I finally discovered what my mom had been raving about for so long) in addition to providing a multitude of riding experiences to further advance my skills.

For the last five years, I have had the privlidge of riding and competing Gryffendor, who belongs to a friend.  

Alex is my adopted thoroughbred, who I am bringing along as an Eventer.

Although my need to work-to-ride means pursuing my love of riding in my spare time, I continue the quest to advance my skills, become the best rider possible and have a damn good time in the process!

No comments:

Post a Comment